Local success at Eisteddfod Gadeiriol Dyffryn Conwy Llanrwst

Thursday 23rd June 2022 8:00 am
[email protected]

+ 3
(View All)

Gaynor Mai Jones , Cwm Rhondda and Aberystwyth, Cadair winner, with John Hywyn, judge

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

Performers from across Ceredigion and Gwynedd travelled north to compete in the Eisteddfod Gadeiriol Dyffryn Conwy Llanrwst.

After a pause of three years due to Covid-19 the eisteddfod was held on Saturday, 18 June, lasting for about twelve hours.

The Chair was won by Gaenor Mai Jones, Cwm Rhondda/Aberystwyth out of 11entries.

The musical competition - Colin Jones Memorial prize of £500 was won by Tomos Heddwyn Griffiths, Trawsfynydd. Caleb Rhys Jones, Bethesda came second with Fflur P Harman, Nantlle Vale in third place.

Tomos Heddwyn Griffiths also won the Chief Solo. The Welsh Solo and Hymn solo over 60 years of age was won by Gwynn Jones, Llanafan, near Aberystwyth.

Chief Recitation winner was Elfed Jones, Llangwm.

Martha Howatson, Llangernyw won the Young Literature competition and Ebony Gizzy, Ysgol Eirias the Learners.

The Maureen Hughes Memorial Trophy was won by Lea Mererid Roberts from Pwllheli.

As we continue to protect and grow quality local journalism, Cambrian News is considering experimenting in the future with some form of paid-for content on our website.

If you’d like to help shape how that may look and secure some free credits if we do go live then please register  here.

More About:



To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0