More than 3,500 students return to Aber for long-anticipated graduation ceremonies

By Dylan Davies   |   News editor   |
Thursday 7th July 2022 12:25 pm
[email protected]
Photo Code DPJ24J20 Photo Arwyn Parry Jones 24July14 Ref Simon; - Graduation; Crowd photo.
Students who graduated in 2020, 2021 and 2022 will attend ceremonies at Aberystwyth University this week (Cambrian News )

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

MORE than 3,500 students will return to Aberystwyth University this week as graduation ceremonies return after a two year hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Graduation 2022 will see 3,600 students and their families being welcomed back to Aberystwyth for sixteen ceremonies which take place from 8-15 July at Aberystwyth Arts Centre’s Great Hall.

As well as welcoming its newest graduates, the university will also see students graduating from the 2020 and 2021 cohorts who were prevented from doing so at the time due to the pandemic.

As part of the graduation ceremonies the university will also present 10 Honorary Fellowships to individuals who have or have had a connection with Aberystwyth or Wales, and who have made an outstanding contribution to their chosen field.

This year’s Fellows include leading figures from the arts, broadcasting, law, agriculture, and the science and technology sectors.

The 2022 Honorary Fellows are:

·          His Honour Judge Nicholas Cooke QC, former Senior Circuit Judge at the Central Criminal Court, “the Old Bailey”

·          Myrddin ap Dafydd, author, publisher and Archdruid of Wales

·          Gwerfyl Pierce Jones, former Director and Chief Executive of the Welsh Books Council

·          Tom Jones, agriculturalist and founding Chair of the Millennium Stadium Charitable Trust

·          Dr Zoe Laughlin, co-founder and director of the Institute of Making

·          The Hon Justice Datuk Vazeer Alam Mydin Meera, Court of Appeal Judge, Malaysia

·          Rhuanedd Richards, BBC Wales’ National Director

·          Professor Dame Elan Closs Stephens DBE, Electoral Commissioner for Wales and Non-Executive Director of the BBC Board and its member for Wales

·          Harry Venning, award winning cartoonist, illustrator and comedy writer

·          Jonathan Whelan, IT consultant, author and Fellow of the British Computer Society.

Professor Elizabeth Treasure, Vice-Chancellor of Aberystwyth University said: “Graduation is the highlight of the University’s calendar, and it is wonderful to once again be able to hold these time-honoured celebrations of our students’ achievements. 

“As well as a well-deserved opportunity for our 2022 graduates to celebrate their success with their families and supporters, it will be a pleasure this year to also welcome back graduates from 2020 and 2021 for their long-anticipated ceremonies.

“Our historic university celebrates its 150th anniversary this year. 

“Since we first opened our doors to students in 1872, many thousands of students have completed their studies here. 

“Few have done so under such challenging circumstances as these students faced due to the pandemic. 

“I therefore congratulate each and every one of them on the determination and strength of spirit they have shown to reach this milestone, and wish them every success for the future.”  

As we continue to protect and grow quality local journalism, Cambrian News is considering experimenting in the future with some form of paid-for content on our website.

If you’d like to help shape how that may look and secure some free credits if we do go live then please register  here.

More About:



To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0