Election 2022: Ceredigion prepares to go to the polls

By Katy Jenkins   |   Local Democracy Reporter   |
Thursday 5th May 2022 8:15 am
Penmorfa Ceredigion County Council Aberaeron
Ceredigion County Council headquarters at Penmorfa in Aberaeron (Cambrian News )

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

Ceredigion voters go to the polls on Thursday and it is set to be all change at Penmorfa.

Plaid Cymru held the majority of seats at Ceredigion County Council and its executive decision making body of eight members – cabinet –  with three independent or Independent Voice members, as appointed by the council leader.

The outgoing council consisted of 20 Plaid Cymru members, 13 independents, seven Liberal Democrats, one Labour and one un-grouped councillor.

A number of longstanding councillors, including council leader Ellen ap Gwynn and leader of the opposition Ceredig Davies, stood down this year and are not on the ballot paper on 5 May.

Ceredigion makeup
The layout of Ceredigion County Council before Thursday’s election (LDRS ) (LDRS)

There will be 38 elected councillors for the next five years, representing 34 electoral wards, with four multi-member wards – Aberystwyth Morlais a Glais, Aberystwyth Penparcau, Beulah and Llangoedmor and Aberporth and Y Ferwig.

In the 2017 elections there were eight uncontested seats and this year there are five.

Returning to the council are two independent members, one Lib Dem, one Plaid Cymru member and one Labour member.

The Lampeter electoral ward – which is an uncontested seat – will be reduced to one member, with Hag Harries, Labour, remaining after Ivor Williams stood down.

A list of the wards where council seats are up for grabs follows, including the names of the prospective councillors currently canvassing for votes.

Aberaeron and Aberath

Liberal  Democrats: Elizbeth Evans; Independent: Peter Huw Lloyd.

Aberporth and Ferwig

Plaid Cymru: Clive Davies; Plaid: Gethin Davies; Inde: Sue Lewis.

Aberystwyth Morfa a Glais

Labour: James Ralph Cook; Lab: Dylan Lewis-Rowlands; Lib Dem: Iwan Jones Edwards; Lib Dem: Joe Thomas; Conservative: Sam Hall; Cons: Ewan Lawry; Green: CJ Peasley; Plaid Cymru: Mark Strong; Plaid Cymru: Alun Williams.

Aberystwyth Penparcau

Plaid: Steve Davies; Inde: Lloyd Edwards; Lib Dem: David Lees; Lab: Alex Mangold; Plaid: Carl Worrall.

Aberystwyth Rheidol

Lib Dem: Benjamin Mair; Plaid: Endaf Edwards; Lab: Mathew Norman; Inde: Martin Wyn Shewring.

Beulah and Llangoedmor

Lab: Jan Culley; Plaid: Amanda Edwards; Plaid: Chris James; Inde: Gethin James.


Inde: Hugh Richard Micahel Huges; Inde: Ray Quant; Green Party: Naomi Jane Salmon.

New Quay and Llanllwchaearn

Inde: Dan Potter; Plaid: Matthew Vaux.

Ceulan a Maesmawr

Plaid: Catrin M.S Davies; Inde: Dilwyn Lewis.

Ciliau Aeron

Inde: Marc Davies; Plaid: Iwan Thomas.


Lab: Gareth Stevan Kelly; Plaid: Elin Mabbutt; Lib Dem: John Roberts.

Llandysul South

Plaid: Matt Adams; Inde: Keith Evans.

Llandysul North and Troedyraur

Plaid: Maldwyn Lewis; Green: Brian Richard Mitchell; Inde: Ioan Thomas.

Llanbadarn Fawr

Inde: James Richard Arathoon; Plaid: Gareth Davies; Lib Dem: Josh Rutty.


Lib Dem: Geraint Wyn Hughes; Plaid: Simon Lloyd Warburton.

Llanfihangel Ystrad

Inde: Gordon Evans; Plaid: Ceris Jones.


Plaid: Eryl Evans; Inde: Jane Morgan; Lab: Dinah Mulholland.


Plaid: Bryan Gareth Davies; Inde: Anwen Hughes.


Lib Dem: Ken Bird; Gwlad: Gwyn Wigley Evans; Green: Harry Hayfield; Inde: David Inshaw.


Inde: Euros Davies; Plaid: Ryan James Jones.


Inde: Dafydd Edwards; Plaid: Keith Henson.


Inde: Aaron Benjamin; Inde: Wyn Evans; Plaid: Angharad Danielle Shaw.


Plaid: Rhodri Davies; Green: Chris Simpson.


Plaid: Richard Morgan Jones; Lib Dem: Sian Maehrlein.


Inde: Gwyn James; Unspecified: Jake Robert Rayson.


Lib Dem: Elaine Evans; Plaid: Catrin Miles; Lab: John Pope.


Inde: Dai Mason; Plaid: Caryl Roberts.

Tregaron and Ystrad Fflur

Inde: Ifan Davies; Plaid: Catherine Hughes.


Lib Dem: Meirion Davies; Plaid: Kerry Elizabeth Ferguson.

As we continue to protect and grow quality local journalism, Cambrian News is considering experimenting in the future with some form of paid-for content on our website.

If you’d like to help shape how that may look and secure some free credits if we do go live then please register  here.


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0