DWYFOR and Meirionnydd’s MP is to lead Plaid Cymru’s Westminster group.

Liz Saville Roberts was selected unopposed during the party’s first group meeting following the election.

The party increased its representation in Westminster from three to four MPs in the recent election and Arfon MP Hywel Williams has stepped down as leader to focus on his duties as Plaid Cymru’s Brexit minister.

The party has also announced new portfolios for their spokespersons, with Liz Saville Roberts taking responsibility for Justice and Home Affairs, Hywel Williams taking responsibility for Brexit and International Trade, Jonathan Edwards leading on Treasury, Foreign Affairs and Defence; and new Ceredigion MP, Ben Lake, leading on Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Constitutional Affairs and Culture, Media and Sport.

Carmarthen East & Dinefwr MP Jonathan Edwards will be the party’s new whip.

Plaid Cymru’s new Westminster group leader, Mrs Saville Roberts, said: “It is a great honour to have been selected to lead Plaid Cymru’s strong and talented Westminster group, which is bigger than it has been since the 2001 election. I am grateful to have the support of my colleagues in the Plaid Cymru group and for the encouragement from colleagues within and outside the party.

“Hywel led the group ably and successfully during the last parliament and is highly thought of and respected, not just in the Plaid Cymru group but across the House of Commons.

See this week’s north editions for the full story, in shops and online on Thursday